Ridiculously slow speeds

Started by yuki_scorpio, Oct 28, 2008, 23:53:43

Previous topic - Next topic

yuki_scorpio

My internet has been slow for the past week or so. Went to do a speedtest and the results were:

Your DSL connection rate: 416 kbps(DOWN-STREAM),  448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP profile for your line is - 250 kbps
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 177 kbps

I'm a tech-talk idiot. Can someone please explain to me what I should do, in simple language? Thanks for your help.

Dopamine

In simple language, your router (or modem if you use one) has connected to the telephone exchange at a very low speed (its "sync"). BT's system then automatically restricts your maximum available download speed to one consistent with your current connection speed, even though your line has achieved higher speeds previously. You can see this by looking at your IP profile: 250kbps means that's the max you'll get, regardless of the speed (sync) you've connected to the exchange at.

If this has only happened recently, and prior to that you've always been happy with your speed, you should reboot your router to force a new connection with the exchange. Hopefully it will connect at a faster speed and, if it does, BT's systems will, in around 3 days, acknowledge that faster speed by increasing your download speed (IP profile) to match. Problem solved.

However, it's most likely that electrical interference (noise) on your line has caused a loss of connection and a subsequent reconnection at a lower speed, in which case you'll need to get a little more technical in an effort to find and reduce/stop/cope with the noise.

If that's the case, post back here where there are plenty of knowledgeable people able to help.

yuki_scorpio

Thank you. I'll try the reboot and wait a few days to see what happens, then!

Rik

Welcome to the forum, Yuki. :) :welc: :karma:

Dopamine's advice is the best you could get, let us know how you get on.
Rik
--------------------