Website Hosting -MobileMe v IDNet

Started by Steve Bennison, Dec 30, 2009, 14:50:24

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve Bennison

I've just started building a website. I'm a complete novice but I'm using Rapidweaver, which seems OK so far. If & when I ever finish it, the site will be very simple, mostly just writing, but I'm hoping it will have several hundred "Click here to download" links to downloadable files, though these too will mainly be very simple written documents. I was planning to host the whole thing on my Apple iDisk space, using MobileMe, as this seemed the easiest option, but I'm wondering if it might be better to have IDNet website hosting, which I gather would be quicker & more reliable. I've had an IDNet ISP account for several years & have always been very happy with it, with hardly ever any problems, & wouldn't mind forking out £200 or £300 a year for the "Silver" or "Gold" webhosting packages. Does anyone have any advice? Would IDNet hosting be easy enough for a nervous beginner -for example, would I be able to manage a domain name, would it work with Rapidweaver, would it be overkill for a fairly simple personal website?

Simon

Can't help with the tech stuff, Steve, but  :welc:  :karma:

Someone will be along with some advice very soon.  :)
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Rik

Hi and welcome to the forum, Steve. :welc: :karma:

I can't answer your question on Rapidweaver, but how much disk space would you expect to require? It might be that the free webspace would be sufficient for your needs?
Rik
--------------------

Ted

Hi Steve

Take a look at 1and1 Web Hosting, prices are reasonable and they have always been very reliable for my own domain email account.

I think Sebby uses their web hosting, he'll be around sometime soon, I'm sure.
Ted
There's no place like 127.0.0.1

Rik

1&1 have certainly been first rate for my email, Ted.
Rik
--------------------

Ted