Can I set a bandwidth cap on IDnet

Started by pctech, May 13, 2010, 13:56:06

Previous topic - Next topic

pctech

Can I set a bandwidth cap on IDnet's service so I don't get a large bill?

Simon

I don't think so, but you can monitor your usage via the RSS feed.
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Lance

You can't, but as Simon has said you can use the RSS feed, or you could use the customer area on the IDNet website. Finally, if it looks like you are going to exceed, a system generated email will be sent to you warning you.
Lance
_____

pctech

Think I'm going to stick with an ISP where I can enforce a cap as otherwise I could get a little carried away.

Rik

You sound like me and food, Mitch, no self discipline. ;)
Rik
--------------------

pctech

No I'm a bit of a tech webcast addict, whether it be a new router, CPU or just general tech news.

Rik

Rik
--------------------

pctech

Last temp we had that spent all her time on iPlayer got the boot pretty sharpish

Rik

You could argue it's necessary research. ;)
Rik
--------------------

pctech

I might get away with it for a bit.

Rik

Rik
--------------------

Technical Ben

If you want to keep browsing, but keep under your limit, perhaps use an accelerator? The right program, can be set to only download small images, or parts of them. They will be a good enough quality to see, but save on bandwidth.
Although, the main bandwidth hog would be video (including those in adverts, so get an Adblocker for those!). Perhaps watch less videos, to save on bandwidth.

Otherwise, you can try one of the software bandwidth monitors. But I don't know of any that lock you out when your close to your limit.