SSID SBC 4.25 Power Issues

Started by stuwhite, Feb 26, 2011, 11:08:57

Previous topic - Next topic

stuwhite

Hi

Sorry if this is an obvious one, I am pretty new to this.
I have an early SSID 2700 HGV which i have just obtained new and sealed in the box.

I have managed to flash it with the SBD version 4.25.19 SBC firmware and its working fine. Connected up to Sky broadband no problem and has been running quite happily.

However, The power settings are only giving me options 1-4 and the channels are only giving me options 5,6 and 7.

I have read and followed this tutorial: http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/021.htm

and i note it says:

If the number of wireless channels and power settings do not change immediately after entering the manual key code, please be patient.  The hub frequently contacts the 2Wire provisioning servers, and if the servers do not respond, the hub may not update these settings immediately after entering the key code.  Simply leave the hub with its current key code for a few hours or a few days while connected to the internet and hopefully the wireless settings in the menus should automatically update.   You may also wish to try an alternative keycode, such as the standard BT keycode: 528Y-27G4-A222-22BJ-B22V

I have had it running for a couple of weeks now and still no change. I have also tried changing to the standard BT keycode as suggested.

And i also note:

(Update 21 Apr 09):  Two reports in past month from owners of hubs with hardware version '2701-100588-005'  (Assy no. 4201-003003-006) advising they only see 3 wireless channels and wireless power level settings 1-4.

My router is one of these assy no. 4201-003003-006.

Has anyone got any idea whether there is a fix for this? Can i upgrade to the singtel v5 firmware? I basically want to increase the power to provide better wireless signal at the other end of the house (I know its not strictly legal in the UK) otherwise i may as well have stuck with my old sky netgear router.