New wireless ADSL Modem Router needed

Started by Monk, Dec 12, 2010, 17:58:17

Previous topic - Next topic

Monk

I have now established that my router  ( Netgear DG 834G v3) is to blame for dropping internet connections. I am therefore looking for a replacement with a strong signal, good protection and parental control (optional). We do use several laptops in the house, sometimes at the same time. What I am looking for is something easy to set up as I have no knowledge in this area. I wondered if anybody can reccommend something reliable that perhaps they're using and are happy with? Also, is there anything I should be aware of before I make a purchase or parhaps something I should avoid.  I am using windows 7.
Amazon has lots of different products but where do one start? I have about £70. It would be great if you could share your opinions here.

Rik

I don't use Win7, but I've seen a few reports of problems with wireless LAN on them. Ideally, I would have thought you want an N standard router if you're sharing the bandwidth with several others.
Rik
--------------------

This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Glenn

From earlier in your other thread, Rik suggested the following;

Quote from: Rik on Dec 04, 2010, 16:22:17
There's no simple answer as to what's a  good router, matching it to the line is much more important these days, but Netgear, Speedtouch, 2-Wire and Billion seem to be doing well at the moment. Draytek are good, but more complex and expensive.
Glenn
--------------------

klipp

Currys has Netgear DGN2200 Wireless N300 router for £80, I picked one up quite recently.  I think it has the all important Broadcom chipset and on the box it says "live parental controls" and "supports windows 7".  Easy to use and setup as per all netgear stuff.

Lance