Using IDNet nameservers on Speedtouch 585v6

Started by sat_mad, Jul 09, 2011, 12:51:19

Previous topic - Next topic

sat_mad

Hi,

I've been using OpenDNS for many years now, but in recent DNS benchmarks I have done I've found that their nameservers are much slower than other options.  ::)

I thought I'd just try the IDNet ones instead as they are praised in other forum posts, but just need some advise on setting up the router.

I have OpenDNS set up on the router (rather than PCs), which on the Speedtouch is done via a telnet CLI.

Currently, in the router's browser-based admin, the nameservers are showing up as IDNet's, but the command line ones are overwriting them.

Should I enter the IDNet ones via telnet, or is there a way/command I can use so that the router will use route to the default ones? Is it just the case of deleting the OpenDNS ones?  ???

- Richard

Simon

Hi Richard, and a belated :welc: :karma:

Sorry, I can't help with your question, but I'm sure someone will along soon who can.  :)
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

pctech

This page might be some help http://www.kitz.co.uk/routers/speedtouch585.htm (just substitute the OpenDNS IPs for the IDNet ones)

Ray

Ray
--------------------

sat_mad

Thanks for your replies (and karma!  ;))

Putting the IDNet DNS in via telnet was plan #2 - I was just thinking that a router wouldn't need the IP addresses adding originally, so there might be a way of making the router use what was available.  :-\

I might see if a full factory reset does the trick!

Sorry to be full of questions, but I saw this Thompson router whilst searching for DNS information.

It claims to be able to provide wireless G & N simultaneously, but doesn't it seem cheap for something with that sort of capability?

Steve

It should pick up IDNet nameservers automatically  if no others are listed plus I've no idea of the capabilities of the router you linked to but it does seem cheap.