Router losing connection

Started by magicman, Jan 14, 2012, 14:07:26

Previous topic - Next topic

magicman

Hello newbie here  :) I've been with idnet now for 4 years without any problems... until now. I think it may be due to my nearly 5 year old belkin g router as in the last 2 weeks it has been losing connection on a regular basis which resetting seems to sort out.

I'm no expert but i'm guessing the router is to blame and not the line unless anyone thinks differently

magicman

Anyway i've been looking around for a replacement for around £50, any recommendations? i've seen these netgear ones so far

http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/netgear-dgn2200-wireless-modem-router-06930370-pdt.html

http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/netgear-n150-dgn1000-wireless-adsl-router-03701125-pdt.html

plus these 2 Linksys WRT120N + Belkin F6D4630uk4A

Simon

:welc: :karma:

Someone will be along with advice soon.  :)
Simon.
--
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

Steve

:welc: :karma:

At that price I'd probably go for the DGN2200 we've a few users here. It's normally the PSU that fails firsts in any router and unless you've got a spare  it's difficult sometimes to differentiate whether its the router or the line. Your other options are to find your router stats and a BT speedtest and check with support before you spend your money.
Steve
------------

Ray

Ray
--------------------

Lance

I've got the dgn2200 and I'm very happy with it. Easy to configure with some advanced features.  Seems solid on my line with a target SNR of 3db.
Lance
_____

cavillas

I have a dgn2200 as well not a bad router.  Only problem is not capable of IPv8 yet but there is supposed to be an udate soemtime in the first half of this year to deal with that, I hope.
------
Alf :)

Rik

Hi and welcome to the forum. :welc: :karma: