IPv6 / FTTC

Started by alexmonaghan, Jan 29, 2012, 10:14:12

Previous topic - Next topic

alexmonaghan

I have a netgear WNR2200. I've just upgraded this to the latest firmware in order to get IPv6, does you have experience of this router or similar firmware? I selected PPPoE in the IPv6 settings but it doesn't appear to pull an IPv6 address.

Any suggestions?

Ardua

Check with Support that an IPv6 address has been enabled/allocated. I had this problem with my Fritz!Box.

Steve

In addition the router must support dual stack IPv4/IPv6, the IPV4 address must be picked up first and then the IPv6 address is then supposed to be allocated automatically if requested. So each device and router will have an IPv4 and IPv6 address. I've no experience of this router but if you can find any IPv6 setup details I'll have a look.

I did wonder that since the IPv4 connection is established first that the PPPOE setting for IPv6 may not be correct i.e. try DHCP  :dunno:
Steve
------------
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

alexmonaghan

I've tried PPPoE and DHCP, neither work, hence calling for help. The reseller portal is showing an IPv6 address allocation, so I'm guessing it is enabled.

I've popped in a request to support, but as I'm getting an IPv4 connection it's not urgent, just something to play with. I've tried tunnels but want to try the real thing now :)

Steve

Sadly my only experience is with the Billion 7800N and all you do is tick a box to enable IPv6
Steve
------------

Ardua

Quote from: Steve on Jan 29, 2012, 11:42:49
Sadly my only experience is with the Billion 7800N and all you do is tick a box to enable IPv6