Which router for fibre

Started by HavellN, Jun 14, 2013, 07:37:31

Previous topic - Next topic

HavellN

Hi all,

finally available to get fttc at home, upgrade is next week - just wondering what ethernet router people recommend for use with?  will need to support wifi too..

I see idnet suggest a Netgear WNR1000..

thanks,
Nath

Steve

It depends on your requirements, the WNR1000 is a basic non expensive router, that's not to say it won't do the job although it may  struggle if thoughput on FTTC is high ie short line. I think you need to look at your WifI requirements, do you need N wireless, do you require dual band WiFi ie the normal 2.5GHz band and the less common 5Ghz band. The new draft AC wifi routers are out plus devices to support them, they do however at present cost a premium.

Suggested alternatives imo to the WNR1000 are the Billion 7800N and the Asus RT N66U, there are many others but I've no experience of using them. Netgear supply higher performing routers ie WNDR3700 which will provide higher throughput for LAN activity when performance is determined by the processor speed of the router and the WiFi throughput this as with the other routers I mentioned may be relevant if for instance your looking at HD video streaming across your network.

IPv6 is still in it's infancy you can do without for awhile to come but you may want to consider it in your router choice.
Steve
------------
This post reflects my own views, opinions and experience, not those of IDNet.

andrue

I bought myself a WNR1000. It performed fine at speeds up to 80Mb/s.

I changed it last month for a DLINK 645 though because NetGear say that the WNR1000v3 (the latest model) will never support IPv6. Not that I need IPv6 right now but what I couldn't fathom is that the older models (v1 & v2) already have IPv6 support through firmware upgrades  :eyebrow: