Migrating to IDNet

Started by stevelondon, Aug 07, 2006, 10:26:45

Previous topic - Next topic

stevelondon

Hi There ,
I am migrating to IDNet Home Max tomorrow 8th August from the farce that is Orange/Wanadoo/Freeserve
ive never migrated before so i need a few tips please , i understand its usually done early hours of the morning so do i need to switch my router off overnight? and during the training period do i leave it on the whole time ? i am on 8Mbps at the moment with Orange my sync is a rock solid 8128 down and 288 up but my speed rarely reaches 3Mbps recent test is 2.6 Mbps down 0.2 Mbps up so obviously i hope that improves in a couple of weeks any advice and tips would be appreciated bearing in mind im no techie looking forward to the change thanking you in advance.

Regards
Steve

posted on adslguide.uk too

Scott

Welcome aboard Steve
I'll leave other more experienced migration-types to clue you in but whatever, think you've made the right choice !
Member of the IDNet Mafia
How to Spot and Deal with Trolls

thetrevone

Steve,

I migrated in a couple of weeks ago, I use a router, I found the migration had taken place early in the morning, I had not unplugged or powered down the router, I just thought lets see if it has happened at 07:30, I put in the new log in details and DNS servers that IDnet had emailed me and the router reconnected via IDnet. I have (and had) a rock solid 8m connection. Since the kids have broken up from school (could be just a coincidence) at certain times of the day speeds can drop to as low as 1 to 2mb but normally mine is around 5-6mb (around 900 metres from exchange as crow flies) It would be interesting to find if I am alone in this, or if there is a fault, sadly I think it is probably just contention at my exchange.