"Illegal" lineside working

Started by Dangerjunkie, Apr 07, 2008, 07:53:07

Previous topic - Next topic

Dangerjunkie

Hi Guys,

I'm a network engineer and have all the correct tools to work on phone systems. I promised my friend that I would get her going on IDNet. Her house wiring is of "questionable" quality and she is miles from anywhere so she needs the best job done in order to get anything decent from her ADSL.

She hasn't had a BT engineer in for ages and has an old-style master socket rather than an NTE5. I'd really like to fit an ADSLNation filtered master socket for her and change all her extension wiring over to CAT5e. If I fit an ADSLNation XTF-68 in place of her master socket I know that's naughty and obvious and I any subsequent BT engineer to take a dim view. If I can get hold of a genuine BT NTE5 (I think I may be able to), fit it myself on the quiet and then change her master socket then fit an ADSLNation XTE-2005 how naughty would that be, Would any BT engineer in the future know the line shouldn't have an NTE5 and how would they be likely to react to it please? It just seems a horrid waste of a hundred and something quid to call an Openreach engineer to just change a socket.

Thanks,
Paul.

Danni

I think they'd most likely turn a blind eye, so long as you don't break anything. Unless they have a database of what lines have what sockets, how do they know it wasn't a BT engineer that replaced the socket?
IDNet Customer (ex-partner's name): 6th January 2006 - 23rd March 2007
IDNet broadband Customer (my name): 11th June 2008 - 21st April 2010

Now with Be for internets, IDNet for phone.

Colin Burns

i think the punishment if found guilty is death (line cut off)

Dangerjunkie

Quote from: Danni on Apr 07, 2008, 07:55:43
I think they'd most likely turn a blind eye, so long as you don't break anything. Unless they have a database of what lines have what sockets, how do they know it wasn't a BT engineer that replaced the socket?