New + Idnet Novice + Technophobe + Thick At Anything Technical = Me

Started by Moonshine, May 30, 2008, 21:54:31

Previous topic - Next topic

Moonshine

Hello all.

Well, from the subject title, you will note that I am a complete novice at broadband and Idnet.  I used to be with probably the WORST ISP you can possibly imagine (I know there are quite a few, but I'll bet you guess it within the first three that spring to mind!), and am now enjoying being an escapee.

I have only been with Idnet a few days, so can't really gauge anything nor comment on much, but whereas with my previous ISP my package was for 2mbps with a 2gb per month data transfer, I am now on the Home Lite package with Idnet, which incorporates 8mbps with a 5gb per month data transfer.  Now, here's where I begin to sound completely thick.  I have absolutely no idea what all of that means, nor do I particularly care!!  I mainly use the internet for surfing, checking emails and must confess, I do like a bit of watching some of my favourite old cheesy music on YouTube.  I don't do gaming or anything like that online.  With my former ISP, I never heard from them with a view to knowing whether I'd gone over my monthly limit, so assumed I hadn't.  However, with Idnet I've now noticed that my account provides me with bandwidth statistics.  I've just viewed the first one, and in two days, here are the results:-

1.57 GB download (peak: 1.47 GB/off peak 0.1 GB
0.07 GB upload (peak: 0.06 GB/off peak 0.01 GB

These figures cover 2 days.  If the same rate of usage continues for 31 days then the total for the month will be:

24.32 GB download (peak: 22.78 GB/off peak 1.54 GB
1.19 GB upload (peak: 0.97 GB/off peak 0.22 GB